Our First Vacation

My husband and I have known each other since 2004; we were 14 when we met in Edmonton, AB, Canada and very much unaware of the adventurous life we would once get to share.  We dated (for a brief 7 months) when we were 16, at which time our mutual hormonal, psychological and generally explosive personal developments, as are characteristically associated with that time of life, hindered us from developing the type of meaningful and long lasting relationship most of us seek.

However, that did not stop us from enjoying those 7 months and beginning what would become, also very much unbeknownst to us, a long tradition of travelling and exploring the world together.

Teenage Date

Our First Vacation

I was dreadfully disappointed when I realized that my new boyfriend, Derek, would not be coming to my 16th birthday party during the summer of 2006, because his family has scheduled a holiday to visit their Grandma, up in Jasper AB, in the heart of the beautiful Rocky Mountains.

Since this was before the popularity of Facebook, Skype and the like, he had called me for my birthday and we were chatting, when my dad offered to buy me a bus ticket to Jasper so that I could go and see him, if his family permitted it. They were super nice about it and agreed to have me join them, so the day after my birthday I was on the Greyhound Bus, heading for my first ever little holiday without my family or my school. I remember being so very excited and the 6 hour bus journey didn’t bother me in the slightest!

jasper 2

On the bus to Jasper: This was, of course, before iPhones, selfies or duck faces ever became popular… I took this photo with a normal camera, hoping to not photograph only half of my face… haha

Being there was amazing, we went for some great meals with his family, I got to meet some of his Aunts and Uncles, and even some of his cousins who lived rather far away and for the first time ever, I got to enjoy the raw beauty of the Rocky Mountains.

Pyramid Lake

What an adventure it was…

Pyramid Lake 2

I am indescribably fond of these memories… 

Dinner

His little sister Marissa and I got a long incredibly well; now as my sister in law, I love her even more.

I don’t know if there is much of a purpose in sharing this little insight into our past, here on this blog, however I have been thinking about all the wonderful adventures and experiences that Derek and I have had the privilege to share so far, and in the process of dreaming up our next big adventures, I couldn’t help but think about one of our first and happiest memories.

Certainly I will wander down memory lane some more; as a matter of fact, the idea of authoring summaries of each of my adventurous travels so far feels like a very joyous and amusing pastime, and as such I would like to invite you to join me on my little mental journey, if you wish.

Thank you so much for taking time to read this, and joining me on this new blogging adventure.

Leave a Reply

