The Book List

Typical! It’s so typical that come this time of year when I am looking at the plethora of new books to choose from for my Santa list that I realize, that I probably shouldn’t be asking for anything until I finish the list of books (the length of my arm) that I already have, standing in anticipation on my bookshelf.

You know the kind, it’s always that last book in an eon long series that you have been reading all year, but is now at the back of the queue behind the 2 books you bought from the local author at comic con, the follow up “tying up loose ends” volume to the last series you read, the new book sent to you by your book club, oh and of course that book you found at the local library that was just too good to pass up, but if you don’t read it first, the late fees will be the bane of your existence.

Thus, I figured, if I publish my list of “need to read” books right here, I might actually have the persuasion to finally follow through and get them started/finished before the big man comes to town. 😉 (and maybe even throw a review here for good measure.) hahaha

With no further ado, here is The List:

“Folk’d” and “Folk’d Up” – by Belfast author Laurence Donaghy

image-7

Synopsis: “Having plunged himself headfirst through a portal to the Otherworld, Danny Morrigan has embarked on a mission into the unknown to save his family, and rescue his missing son. But is he about to find more than he bargained for. Family histories and unspoken pasts will be revealed and Danny must learn how to use the powers inside him – and quickly – for, above ground, the faeries have harnessed the power of technology to fuel their dark magics, and in a matter of days, all of Ireland maybe under their spell. The clock is ticking.” – Amazon.com

We bought these at the Balmoral Comic Con (N. Ireland) directly from the Author.

My thoughts: I greatly enjoyed the first book, even though it felt like it was dragging it’s heels a little bit as far as getting the actually plot going was concerned. Brilliant character building though, and obviously it payed off because I now really care about what happens to Danny and Ellie and whether they will get baby Luke back safe and sound. The second book is far more steeped in Irish Mythology and magical heroism (and the battle of a protagonist who doesn’t want to be the hero) and I am thoroughly enjoying it.

“The Yellow Hoods” series, “Along came a wolf” & “Breadcrumb Trail” by Canadian Author Adam Dreece 

The Yellow Hoods

“Along Came a Wolf is the debut book of the highly rated emergent Steampunk series, The Yellow Hoods. This young adult series is layered for the mature reader. It incorporates some elements of fairy-tale, inspired by the notion of what if the rhymes and tales we know were based on real events, in this world. ” – Amazon. com 

My Thoughts:  We met Adam at the Edmonton Comic Expo and he was very persuasive and very passionate about his books, which is why we bought both. (He was even so kind as to give us a slightly lighter edition of the second book for easier travelling.) If the book is as well written as this gentleman was spoken, then this is surely going to be a treat.

Percy Jackson and The Greek Gods” and “The Heroes of Olympus: The Blood of Olympus” – by Rick Riordan

Rick RiordanPJ & TGG: “A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was like, Can we do this anonymously? Because I don’t need the Olympians mad at me again. But if it helps you to know your Greek gods, and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face, then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week.” – Amazon.com

THOO: “Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.” – Amazon.com

My Thoughts:  My youngest brother Ronan (aged 14) got me into this series, and I am very grateful that he did. All of the Percy Jackson books have felt like classic story time; sitting by the fire and listening to the legends of old. Even though written for a younger audience, Rick challenges his young readers, making it interesting even for adult fans of the series and I am thoroughly impressed by the amazing amount of tangential learning that this series gifts it audience (of any age). I am thoroughly looking forward to sinking my (literary) teeth into this final chapter.

“After Dead” – Charlaine Harris 

image-8

“Dead Ever After marked the end of the Sookie Stackhouse novels—a series that garnered millions of fans and spawned the hit HBO television show True Blood. It also stoked a hunger that will never die…a hunger to know what happened next. […] This coda provides the answers to your lingering questions—including details of Sookie’s own happily-ever-after… ” – Amazon.com

My Thoughts:devoured  this series. I mean, I read  every available book  in 2 months and then waited with spine tingling anticipation for the each of the last 2 to come out. The Southern Vampire Chronicles are funny yet scary, magical while feeling very real, well written, well thought through and an overall pleasure to enjoy over and over again. It’s not often that I find a series with re-read value, but this one has it, hands down. I  can not wait to find out what happened to all of my favourite characters.

“Only Time Will Tell” – by Jeffrey Archer

 image-9“The first novel in the Clifton Chronicles, an ambitious new series that tells the story of a family across generations and oceans, from heartbreak to triumph, from #1 New York Timesbestselling author Jeffrey Archer” – Amazon.com

My Thoughts: This book came to me (literally) as a very pleasant surprise in the mail. It was sent to me by the lovely folks over at Viking River Cruises, after I booked a cruise with them. This was their gift to me and an invitation to join their book club. I am incredibly excited as the first chapter was very intriguing and I am curious to see how the story plays out.

Thanks for reading.

Take care. xoxo

Leave a Reply

