We just have to want to.

There’s a fascinating video making the rounds again called “Live Life the Real Way”… I appreciate the sentiment in it, I really do… as a generation we struggle with our digital and real life identities; how to keep them apart while staying truly connected and if you haven’t seen it yet, it’s totally worth a watch. I’ll link it here: https://youtu.be/zA5SK0usRZE

But I also felt a real need t respond to it somehow. To point out some things that I noticed, and so on my way home from work today these words came to me which I want to share with you now.

Please forgive me if the rhyme structure isn’t perfect; it’s been quite a few years since my last English class.

Here we go….

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.09.11 PM

We just have to want to. 

Everywhere I look,
Email Twitter or Facebook

I see it being said,
that all this media is messing with my head.
That I have grown incapable, unable and unwilling
to be present, friendly or even ever bringing
real connections to the people around me.
Being told that all of my tech makes me not see,
what I could be learning, creating and giving;
totally missing the life I could be living
if I simply switched the machines off.
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
I am not here to refute, to rebuke or tell fables
I too am aware and perfectly able,
to see our addiction.
We’re sucked in by the light, the glamour, the friction;
the drama and tall tales that we tell ourselves
to escape the real sadness that overwhelms us.
The pressure, the rat race, keeping up with the Jones’s;
so many of us thinking that it’s just hopeless.
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
But that’s another day’s story;
right now I wish to tell you the gory –
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
truth that our reality would be,
if we were to suddenly lose our technology.
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
Emigration would become permanent once more
No vids of the kids playing ball on the floor.
No shared birthdays, or weddings or sadness across the miles;
just snail mail letters and photographs of distant smiles,
and burial cards a caring relative might send
Because for far away families: no tech means the end.
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
And what of the tale of the off chance meeting?
A stranger lost and during that fleeting
moment in whence he asked her for help,
destiny stirred and with a soft whelp
they fell so in love  – which surely meant –
their romance bloomed and then they spent
a life full of love and kindness and … oh …
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
But what if that woman had simply said no?
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
He may have stayed lost,
Left his boss – disappointed?
Missed an appointment
or special do?
Was he on his way to a rendezvous?
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
The maps on our phones find our way about,
while we have apps to monitor the kids while we’re out.
Keep a grocery and to do list all in the same place,
and pick a great restaurant to put a smile on the face –
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
– of the ones we love –
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
The ones we connect with.
The ones whom we laugh, fight and share life with.
The ones without whom the sun doesn’t shine.
The ones whom I know will always be mine.
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
They are protected by tech
Can call the police
Transmit their GPS
And send swift notice
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
to a whole group of us, all at the same time.
I don’t want to imagine a life where one of mine…
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
got into a place they don’t want to be in;
and had no way to call me;
for me to to see them
safely home.
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
I know we have problems.
I know it’s an addiction.
I know that we need to stop this restriction,
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
we put on ourselves by not seeing eye to eye!
But I also think to myself – I ponder – ask why (?)
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
Do we think that the tech is the problem?
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
The problem is clearly moderation: or more accurately a lack thereof
not knowing how to truly be present, in love.
We need to respect our tools yet not let them rule us.
We need to get back in control – no ifs and not buts.
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
Think forward not backwards.
Connect and be present.
Otherwise we will face a day most unpleasant:
a dawn shared by robots and those fearful at heart.
Another social faction – to tear us apart.
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM
We just have to want to.
I do. Do you?
Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.16.11 PM

Thank you for reading. As always, take care. xoxo

One thought on “We just have to want to.

Leave a Reply

