A surprise weekend in Scotland

Just about 2 weeks ago now, my Mum and I were having our daily chat on the phone, when my Dad started spewing some sort of excited none-sense in the background. Wanting to know whether I worked that coming weekend, and whether my husband worked … if we did work, when would we be off work? And whether we had any plans?

He got so excited, that Mum could not continue to talk to me, since he needed to discuss his idea with her (right away) and we hung up. I was incredibly excited – because when my Dad has an idea – it’s usually (the good kind of) crazy and I was really curious to know what he was up to! A few hours later I was still none the wiser, but was asked whether I was up for a crazy adventure. My options of answers? Yes or No.

Not being one to turn down an adventure I said yes and was promptly informed to rearrange my work schedule (we had to leave Belfast by no later than 22:30, so my 23:00 end of shift would simply not do) and that I was to pack a bag.

I was instructed to pack the following:

  • decent outdoor clothes and walking shoes
  • shorts and t-shirts
  • (maybe) swimming things
  • toiletries
  • pyjamas
  • underwear (duh)
  • any electronics and cables I wanted to bring

Also Derek (my husband) had to bring his good camera.

The only other information I was given, was that we should be returned home by approximately 2:00 Monday morning (Sunday night).

And then the most agonizing 36 hours ever commenced… I kept messaging them asking if I could have hints or tips or whether they’d tell me… and then dad occasionally would promise a tip or two which would result in conversations like this:

Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 9.05.49 AMScreen Shot 2015-09-05 at 9.06.21 AM

Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 9.07.25 AM

And this one’s my favourite: 

Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 9.09.04 AM

Dad says: Should I at least give you one small tip?

I say: Yeeeeees … ?

Dad says: But just one…

Result:

Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 9.09.14 AM

It was a fantastic build up and then I was counting down each hour, messaging my parents things like “4 more hours”, “3 more hours”, “2 more hours”, only “1 hour left” and then “omg omg omg it’s now!”.

We went back to my apartment, grabbed our bags (and my darling husband) double checked that all the lights, sockets, etc. were switched off (I am super paranoid about that) and once we had locked up, we got into the car.

Now, what you need to know is that my parents and I have a “travel song” (more on how that came to be, some other time) but suffice it to say it’s “Take it Easy” by the Eagles. So, my dad asks if someone’s got our travel song ready before we leave (to which I had to admit no, I did not, because my phone was almost dead and was out of my reach as it was charging) so dad said he’d get it …

The song that came on the stereo however was not “Take it Easy” it was “Hawks and Eagles” by North Sea Gas, a wonderful Scottish band whom my family have been friends with for many years and that song specifically has been my favourite ever since I could talk! Mum “protested” that this was the wrong song but then Dad clarified that for this journey it was most certainly the right song… and I burst into a flood of tears as I realized we were going to Scotland!

Not only that, but I was then informed that my Dad got tickets to see North Sea Gas (whom I hadn’t seen in YEARS – seriously, I think I was 12 the last time I saw my Uncle Davie) – live in concert at the Edinburgh Fringe. I was beside myself and then cried some more.

I wanted to share this amazing experience and weekend with you, but I had way too many pictures to share in a blog post, so instead, I made a wee video and uploaded it to my YouTube channel. I would be thrilled if you watched it, because we had an amazing adventure!

LINK –> this way –> https://youtu.be/SIulsjp8DMs <– seriously, click that!! <— LINK

IMG_3339It was an amazing adventure, a crazy idea and a whirlwind trip without much sleep, but we had the most fabulous time and I am so incredibly grateful to my parents for taking us. We heard great music, saw amazing places, Derek tried his favourite Scottish craft beer “Inis & Gunn” from the tap and I even tried (and LOVED) breakfast Haggis! *YAY*

IMG_3467IMG_3324IMG_3366

I will share a separate post with my reviews of all the amazing places we visited, once I get a chance. As always thanks for reading (and this time watching) and take care. xoxox

IMG_3288

One thought on “A surprise weekend in Scotland

Leave a Reply

